Periodicals Is HAUTE: All Black Vogue……So Close

                       

 

 

 

 

Liya, Sessilee, Jourdan, Naomi……flawless!

*shudder*

Oooooo,  I’m sooo excited.

Next week, the all black issue of Vogue will hit new stands.  It’s a long time coming and I’m sure that when I buy my copy I’m gonna cry like a little girl, unashamedly and fervently.  I really thought that this was just gonna be a cute thing, but as I’m writing this I feel a little emotional.  Why is it 2008 and black beauty is still not appreciated and respected.   I feel like there are all these people that look at beautiful black women and see a category instead of an amazing looking woman.  I personally know black women and men who should be booked for the biggest runways and the most lucrative endorsements but are being over looked becuz of the color of their skin. 

Sessilee & Tyra Give Old World Glamour

To look at the pictures of these women looking gorgeous and elegant,  displaying the divinity of the black woman.   This is the glory of Naomi and Tyra, Liya and Chanel Iman,  Jourdan and Sessilee and the other overlooked talented few that make up this small group of women that have found footing on the slippery slope that is a whited-out fashion industry.  My heart if full of pride and optimism at the future for women of color that are competent models.  THIS IS NOT ABOUT BLACK MODELS TAKING OVER THE INDUSTRY,  IT’S ABOUT EQUALITY AND RESPECTING EVERY FORM OF BEAUTY.  I really hope that this can be the catalyst for the world of fashion to make the runways and advertorials an array of colors and shades from every race.

-Z’maji, “Raise your glasses to the future *clink*”   

 

One response to “Periodicals Is HAUTE: All Black Vogue……So Close

  1. It is fabulous that the July issue is the all black issue, black models need just as much coverage as everyone else! Although Vogue is not the major arbiter of equality, but at least it is a step in the right direction. There defiantly needs to be more “Bianca’s” recognized in the industry.
    I’m currently working with Toyota and I’m really hyped when it comes to spreading the word about the new interactive If Looks Could Kill webisodes. They follow an aspiring fashion assistant who is a prime example of a woman whos’ got it going on. I’m talking the dream job, man who’s got all the ladies drooling, and the spice to keep it all together. Think James Bond meets Sanaa Lathan in Something New.
    You’ll have to see what I’m talking about. I can’t wait to read your thoughts on the first episode so we can chit-chat abut what’s really going on. Don’t be surprised when you find yourself being reeled in like bait. That will make two of us!
    I hope I didn’t overstep my bounds by directly contacting you. After viewing your blog and seeing how hip to the game you are when it comes to what’s hot and current, I figured this would be something that would catch your interest.
    Looking forward to the girl talk!
    Best,
    Gabrielle Thorn
    Gabrielle.thorn@gmail.com
    ILCK Ambassador

Leave a Reply

